Hillsdale College, Class of 2019

I leave for college tomorrow morning and figured it would be timely to share my graduation speech. Even as I step into this new portion of my life, I will cherish the years that have made me who I am today. Here’s to the next step.

When my mom first told me we were going to homeschool, I stomped my foot, crossed my arms, and insisted that I would be going to school with the rest of my friends and there wasn’t a thing she could do about it.

Turns out, there were a couple things she could do about it. And here I am, 12 years later, ready to go off to college.

I am so grateful to the many people who have stood by my side and walked with me.

Thank you to the friends who have always been there to laugh with me, cry with me, and occasionally fill other friend’s rooms with balloons. You have stuck it out through dumb fights, tough days, and those awful middle-school years when I thought arm warmers were cool.

Thank you to my teachers, who have inspired me to push myself, learn, and grow. You have given me the tools I need to be who I want to be, and do what I want to do. Thank you for understanding on the days I turned in late work, for helping me find joy in learning, and pushing me to give my best.

Thank you to my family. You have been there through the tears, through every Christmas, Easter, and birthday, through every tough homework assignment and broken heart.

And thank you to my parents, who have loved me through every attitude, supported me through every new obsession, and let me learn, grow, and discover at the pace I needed. All these other graduates are lying when they say they have the best parents, because I have them. Thank you. I love you.

And to the other graduates of the class of 2015, I wish the very best for you. I wish the road would rise up to meet you, the wind be always at your back, that the sun would shine warm upon your face, the rains fall soft upon your fields, and until we meet again, I wish God would hold you in the palm of His hand.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

